Show nav
  • EPA 608 Certification with Optional R401-A Testing

EPA 608 Certification

Our popular Air Conditioning & Refrigeration two-day seminar, which is also available for on-site training at the customer's facility, includes optional EPA 608 Technician Certification at no additional charge. Students may take the test virtually upon completion of the 2-day seminar. 

Section 608 of the Federal Clean Air Act requires that all persons who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of appliances that contain regulated refrigerants be certified in proper refrigerant handling techniques by passing the EPA 608 Technician Certification exam.  Candidates for this test can be certified in any of three equipment categories plus Universal.

CORE - To pass any EPA type, a candidate must pass the CORE section of the test plus one of the technician types listed below. Once CORE is passed it need not be taken again and it may be used for additional EPA types.

Type I - A Type I technician primarily works on small appliances such as domestic refrigerators, window air conditioners, PTAC's and vending machines.
Type II – A Type II technician primarily works on equipment using high-pressure refrigerant such as HCFC-22. The equipment includes residential air conditioners and heat pumps, supermarket refrigeration and process refrigeration.
Type III - A Type III technician primarily works on equipment using a low-pressure refrigerant such as HCFC-123 or CFC-11. The units are primarily chillers.
Universal - Any candidate passing all three of these EPA types Type I, Type II or Type III is certified as UNIVERSAL.

The test is divided into four sections, CORE, Type I, Type II and Type III. Each test section has 25 multiple-choice questions drawn from a pool of test questions provided by the EPA. Questions regarding equipment regulations, safety, shipping and identifying refrigerants appear in every test section, so it is important to know these well. Multiple versions of the test are offered at the same time offering different questions.

R410-A Testing
This 1 hour test is for personnel working with high pressure R-410a refrigerants.  Although this topic is covered in the EPA 608 test mentioned above and the EPA does not require any additional certification, many plants and facilities have requested this to ensure the safety of their employees, reduce liability for the company, and establish a culture of safe work practices.

This certification does not permit workers to handle R-410a refrigerants or any refrigerant if they are not already EPA Section 608 certified. It is designed to help workers who are already EPA 608 certified demonstrate their knowledge about handling the newer, high-pressure R-410a refrigerants.

Need more information about TPC's Workforce Management Solutions?

Contact a TPC Consultant: